Birch and Bluebells

Olympus Pen-F with OLYMPUS M.12-45mm F4.0 & OLYMPUS M.60mm F2.8 Macro

What used to cause a rush to visit the Hallerbos and other places where this flower grows abundantly has now become – at least in my area – a common sight. You can find this flower almost everywhere, on the grassy strips where cars park in the streets, where hedges grow, in gardens, basically everywhere. And so, also on my walks through the nearby forests. I even encountered them along the banks of the anti-tank canal this year, in full sunlight, showing that they’re not as difficult and picky as they were said to be.

In the header picture I increased the blue, because otherwise the flowers would be more difficult to see among all the green. So they are certainly not carpets of flowers, but they are numerous enough.

I had my new Olympus Pen-F camera, and I brought along a macro lens, the Olympus 60mm f2.8 macro, which I used briefly. However, I switched back to the 12-45mm pro lens after capturing a few flower shots. I’m not really a dedicated macro photographer; I just happen to have the lens. It’s quite challenging when you only have one camera with you and want to capture both landscapes and flowers. I even think the Lumix 12-60mm Leica lens might be better than both Olympus lenses. Something to look forward to, perhaps 🙂


Visit Open Source Photography !

Open Source Photography – Everything about micro 4/3 photography, specifically Olympus. Update your camera without OM Workspace, set your camera for bird photography, replace your expensive lens hood affordably, buy a good flash system for macro and reviews about other accessories, but also : Fuji Film Simulation, Luts and Cubes, PictureFX and more.