Pied Avocet – Recurvirostra Avosetta – Kluut

E-M1MarkIII – M.100-400mm F5.0-6.3 + MC-14 – Raw Only

I edited these pictures for social media in 16/9 portrait mode, but I thought it might be nice to just put them unchanged on my site.

Recently, I took a ride on my motorcycle to Zeeland-NL. There’s this spot near the water where a large breeding colony of various kinds of birds gathers, like geese, ducks, and so on.

I always park my motorcycle in the parking area and then walk from there. It’s not far from the parking lot, maybe just about 200 meters. Before heading out, I change my clothes to neutral colors at the motorcycle, and then I walk slowly and quietly, trying not to disturb the nesting birds as much as possible, because sometimes there is barely 25m between the walking path and the nests.

After a while of taking photos, I hear the sound of a car behind me. Turns out, there’s this couple driving right up to where I am, letting their dog out, and making all sorts of enthusiastic noise like, “There are so many today, huh?” I couldn’t find it funny at all. Apparently, these people did this regularly, and they even had binoculars, so they must have some interest in birds. But they seemed oblivious to the fact that they were actually rudely disturbing the birds with their car, shouting, and a dog bouncing around energetically.

This shows that people who like nature and animals may also have a different view of how that can be experienced.

This article was written by Marc R. with the assistance of ChatGPT, an AI language model developed by OpenAI.


Visit Open Source Photography !

Open Source Photography – Everything about micro 4/3 photography, specifically Olympus. Update your camera without OM Workspace, set your camera for bird photography, replace your expensive lens hood affordably, buy a good flash system for macro and reviews about other accessories, but also : Fuji Film Simulation, Luts and Cubes, PictureFX and more.