Grey Heron – Ardea Cinerea – Blauwe Reiger

OM System OM-1 Mark II – Leica DG 100-400mm -RawTherapee 5.10 – Picture at full resolution 5208 x 2928

The photo of this heron captures the direction I always aimed for in my photography. I’m still using my first long telephoto lens, the Leica 100-400mm, which I started with for bird and animal photography using Olympus gear. Now paired with the new OM-1 MKII camera, the combination is outstanding—it’s like they were made for each other. Contrary to some OM System Ambassadors’ claims, the lens works perfectly with this camera and any OM Sytem or Olympus camera. While it might not offer full stabilization, the lens is lighter and more stable in hand, making up for it. This lens was already a favorite, and now it’s even more impressive.

However, I’ve encountered an issue with RawTherapee. Currently, I can’t get the basic development right, and there’s more work needed to ensure compatibility with the new ORF files. I’ll be looking into this further because I can’t endorse a program that doesn’t work flawlessly. Stay tuned…


Visit Open Source Photography !

Open Source Photography – Everything about micro 4/3 photography, specifically Olympus. Update your camera without OM Workspace, set your camera for bird photography, replace your expensive lens hood affordably, buy a good flash system for macro and reviews about other accessories, but also : Fuji Film Simulation, Luts and Cubes, PictureFX and more.

2 thoughts on “Grey Heron – Ardea Cinerea – Blauwe Reiger

Comments are closed.